What to Do if You Get in a Crash with an Uninsured Driver
Fortunately, the situation isn't that complicated for Virginia and North Carolina residents for one very simple reason—citizens of both states are required by law to carry uninsured motorist coverage with their insurance policy.
No, paying for uninsured motorist coverage does NOT mean you're subsidizing uninsured drivers who can't afford or choose not to get insurance. In truth, uninsured motorist coverage protects you and your family in the event you're involved in a crash with an uninsured driver.
Of course, the specifics of your policy may vary. Be sure to check with your insurance provider for the details—but in general, your premiums shouldn't even go up after a crash with an uninsured driver, assuming you aren't at fault.
Whatever you do, don't accept cash from an uninsured driver at the scene of a crash. Even if you'd both like to avoid the hassle of dealing with your insurance company, the fact of the matter is that car damage estimates are incredibly tricky to predict at first glance.
What might look like $300 worth of surface damage could wind up being $3000 of extensive work. And, if you accepted cash at the scene, now you're the one stuck with the remainder of the mechanic's fee.
Even though you have uninsured motorist coverage, it's crucial to take down the other driver's data at the scene of the crash for your insurance purposes. Otherwise filing your claim becomes a lot trickier.