Virginia Workers' Compensation Lawyers
Defending the Rights of Employees in Virginia
When you’re on-the-job, you have the right to be protected by your employer from work-related injury or illness. In the state of Virginia, specific workers' compensation laws provide protection. These laws give you options when you sustain an on-the-job injury so you can be financially covered for any damages to your person or income.
If you were injured on the job or contracted an illness due to an unhealthy work environment, our Virginia workers’ compensation attorneys at Kalfus & Nachman PC can help you file your lawsuit. There are several laws that can affect on the outcome of your case, so it’s extremely important to have a workers' comp lawyer on your side to assist you through the entire process.
On this page:
- Coverage Laws in VA
- What to Do If When Injured on the Job
- When To File
- Occupational Injury Statistics
- Related Articles
Get help with your workers’ compensation lawsuit. Contact us today by calling (855) 880-8163.
Understanding Your Rights After an on-the-Job Injury in Virginia
The Virginia workers’ compensation system is designed to protect and help workers who sustain injuries on the job. But these laws are frequently updated and amended; knowing your rights after a work-related accident isn’t always easy.
That being said, here are some important things you should know if you are injured on the job in Virginia:
- It’s important that you notify your employer of the accident/injury right away. In Virginia, you are required by law to inform your employer of your injury within 30 days of the injury-causing accident or within 30 days of being informed by a qualified medical provider of your diagnosis.
- You will most likely need to choose a doctor from a list of approved physicians. This list should be provided to you by your employer. Once you have selected a doctor from the provided list, that is your authorized treating physician.
- You have two years to file a claim with the state’s Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC); however, the sooner you file your claim, the sooner you can start receiving benefits. Waiting to file your claim could lead to a variety of issues, including unnecessary delays or denial.
- If your claim is delayed or denied, or if you have any reason to suspect that you might experience issues with your claim, it is a good idea to work with a workers’ compensation attorney. This is not required by law, but it can be a great benefit to your case. At Kalfus & Nachman PC, we do not charge any lawyers’ fees until we successfully recover compensation for you.
We encourage you to contact our workers’ compensation attorneys for more information about your rights and what to do after a work-related accident in Virginia. We have extensive knowledge of and experience in the law and can answer your questions.
Workers’ Compensation Coverage Laws in VA
Most businesses are required to hold workers’ compensation insurance. Under this law, an “employee” is anyone who falls under the following categories:
- Part time
- Seasonal / temporary employees
- Working family members
Regardless of the combination of types of employees, insurance is required for a business who employs two or more. Your employer should have workers compensation for you to use if you are injured. If that is not the case, they can be held legally responsible.
What to Do If You’re Injured on the Job
There are specific laws in place if you’re hurt or become sick on the job. Some are very complicated, which is why it's best to allow our workers’ compensation attorneys to handle your legal process instead. One of the most important factors in workers’ compensation law is that you must make your employer aware of your injury or illness immediately.
After you notify your employer, you can file a claim with Virginia’s workers’ compensation commission, which must be done within 2 years of your accident or diagnoses. Failing to meet deadlines may result in your claim being denied. Our team can ensure you file within the time limits to help get the benefits you deserve.
When To File a Workers' Compensation Claim
You are eligible to file a workers’ compensation claim if your injury or illness occurred during the course of work, which includes accidents that happened on the job or while carrying out work-related business. For an injury to be covered by workers’ compensation, it must have happened while performing a work activity at a specific time. Injuries that occurred gradually are not covered.
Our lawyers can thoroughly answer your questions and help you understand your eligibility for filing a claim.
Workers can be injured or become sick because of the following on-the-job situations:
- Exposure to harmful substances
- Harmful work environments
- Employer's failure to properly protect or inform employees of harmful work scenarios
Under Virginia’s Workers’ Compensation Act, benefits can include:
- Wage replacement
- Lifetime medical benefits
- Permanent and total disability
- Death benefits
Employees who receive certain types of benefits are also eligible to receive cost of living increases once a year.
Filing for Workers' Compensation in Virginia
Workers' compensation can depend upon the variances in your employer's insurance. This makes it a difficult legal matter to navigate, which is why our attorneys have worked tirelessly to educate ourselves on the laws and regulations in Virginia.
Our team can work with your employer and the insurance companies to get you compensation for the following:
Being injured on the job can be frightening and concerning because you have to place your trust in your employer to ensure you get the help and the coverage you deserve. At Kalfus & Nachman PC, our team of experienced workers’ compensation attorneys in Norfolk have the experience you can trust when proceeding in these types of cases. Call our firm today to schedule a free, private consultation—we are located in Norfolk, Newport News, and Roanoke.
Occupational Injury & Fatality Statistics in Virginia
According to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission’s (WCC) Annual Report for 2018, there were 44,561 major work-related injuries and 51,038 minor work-related injuries reported in Virginia in the documented year.
The report reveals that:
- There were 295,310 First Report of Injury forms filed (an increase of 8%)
- There were 184,733 Second Report of Injury forms filed (an increase of 3%)
- Of the 95,599 total work-related injuries reported, 49% involved an injured female and 51% involved an injured male worker
When it comes to the most common types of work-related injuries, the report revealed:
- 12% of reported injuries were head injuries
- 2% of reported injuries were neck injuries
- 35% of reported injuries were upper extremity injuries
- 15% of reported injuries were trunk injuries
- 21% of reported injuries were lower extremity injuries
The report also revealed the most common workplace events leading to injuries:
- The most common work-related injury was a slip, trip, or fall at 21%
- The next most common work-related injury was a strain at 20%
- The third most common work-related injury was being struck by an object at 19%
If you were injured in a work-related accident or while on the clock, don’t become just another statistic—learn how you can recover workers’ compensation for your medical expenses and lost wages.
Need help with your case? Contact us online or call (855) 880-8163 today! Se habla español.