Auto Insurance Coverage changes in Virginia effective January 1, 2022. The lawmakers in the state are raising the premiums for minimum liability coverage, which will help plaintiffs get more damages from defendants' insurance carriers to deal with high medical bills and receive a fair sense of justice.
In the unfortunate event that you or a loved one gets injured in a car crash in Virginia, call our experienced attorneys to assist you in recovering compensation that meets your needs as per the latest coverage.
Insurance Coverage changes in Virginia
Virginia's vehicle insurance regulations have not changed since 1975. Over the following three years, Senate Bill 1182 increases Virginia's minimum liability insurance coverage requirements. Beginning January 1, 2022, the new minimum insurance coverage will be in effect.
New auto insurance coverage changes in Virginia can be perplexing, but we'll simplify them down for you so that if you need to submit a claim, you'll be prepared and ready. In this article, Kalfus & Nachman outline the minimum automobile insurance coverage necessary in Virginia and how it relates to financial responsibility for auto accidents. As per the Virginia statute §46.2-472. following are the minimum insurance coverage requirements:
- Coverage effective until January 1, 2022
- $25,000 in bodily injury/death coverage (per person): It covers the maximum amount an insurer will pay for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury/death coverage (per accident): Covers the maximum dollar amount the insurer will pay for all injuries in an accident where more than one person gets injured.
- $20,000 in property damage coverage (per accident): It covers the total amount paid for property damages caused in an accident.
- Policy Coverage effective on or after January 1, 2022
- $30,000 in Bodily injury/death coverage (per person): The policy limits will increase from $25,000 to $30,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident.
- $60,000 in Bodily injury/death coverage (per accident): The policy limits will hike from $50,000 to $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident.
- $20,000 in property damage coverage (per accident): It will remain the same $20,000.
- Coverage effective on or after January 1, 2025
- $50,000 in Bodily injury/death coverage (per person): The limits will increase from $30,000 to $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident.
- $100,000 in Bodily injury/death coverage (per accident): The limit will hike from $60,000 to $100,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident.
- $25,000 in property damage coverage (per accident): Property damage coverage will increase from $20,000 to $25,000 per accident.
No auto insurance policy is given without Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Virginia. This coverage offers you protection if the at-fault driver is uninsured or lacks enough coverage to pay for all of your losses and damages. The limits for UIM coverage remain the same as minimum liability insurance coverage.
In Virginia, you can opt to drive without insurance if you pay a fee to the DMV. However, driving without insurance has substantial repercussions in Virginia. You are personally liable for all damages and losses incurred in the event of an accident. The victims may sue you for damages, and if they prevail, you could face having a judgment entered against you, which may have a significant effect on your credit score and other consequences.
If vehicle owners drive without insurance or an Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee, their driving and vehicle registration rights will get revoked (Code of Virginia §46.2-707). And, they must pay a $600 noncompliance fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, and pay a reinstatement fee to have those privileges reinstated.
Optional Insurance Coverages to Ensure Complete Protection in Virginia
The minimal insurance coverage needed by Virginia only provides basic liability coverage; it is in your best interests to seek additional insurance coverage that exceeds the minimum requirements. Drivers should review their possibilities and get additional insurance coverage to provide extra protection for them.
Below listed are some insurance covers that you are not required to buy under Virginia law but should strongly consider purchasing and upgrading the limits on your insurance coverage:
- Collision and Comprehensive coverages - It pays for repairing or replacing your damaged vehicle after a car crash or other accidents. The maximum you may claim is the total cash worth of your car. These are subject to a deductible.
- MedPay Cover - MedPay is the Medical Expense Benefit in Virginia that pays all medical-related expenditures resulting from an accident, regardless of fault.
- Lost Wage Benefits - All Virginia licensed insurers are offering this coverage for up to $100 per week to a total of $5,200 (52 weeks).
Injured in an auto accident in Virginia? Contact us today
Virginia adheres to the pure contributory negligence rule for making an injury claim. According to the law, Plaintiff's contribution to the accident will disqualify them from recovering compensation for any damages related to the accident. Injured victims should always have an experienced auto accident attorney on their side to help them build a strong case and to push back against any allegations of contributory negligence.
If you get injured in an auto accident in Virginia, contact Kalfus & Nachman as soon as possible. We have a team of experienced Virginia auto accident attorneys who can assist you through the intricacies of a personal injury claim. We will tenaciously fight to defend your legal rights and ensure that you receive noteworthy compensation for your injuries and other damages. Callus for a free consultation today at 855-880-8163