Call For a Free Consultation 24/7 - Se Habla Español

How can I find out if my medical condition qualifies for disability benefits?

Were you or a loved one diagnosed with a medical condition that prevents you from working? You may be wondering if you are eligible to receive Social Security Disability benefits (SSD/SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

The Social Security Administration (SSA) is the agency that oversees these benefits and processes and reviews applications. The SSA will decide to approve or deny your claim based on how much your condition causes functional limitations that impact your ability to perform at a job.

For your application to be approved, it is good to know what illnesses are typically eligible for disability benefits and what the specific functional limitations the SSA looks for in your condition. Below is a partial list of common medical conditions that are generally eligible for Social Security disability benefits.

  • Back Pain
  • Degenerative disc disease: If this causes you debilitating pain, it may be considered a degenerative disease and qualify you for SSDI or SSI.
  • Herniated disk: This condition is centered on any of your spinal discs, you may also know this condition as a slipped disc or ruptured disc.
  • Nerve root compression: Also called “pinched nerve”, this condition is also related to sciatica and lumbar radiculopathy.
  • Spinal stenosis
  • Cancer: As many forms of cancer are very serious and life-threatening, the SSA offers another way to obtain benefits aside from going through the regular disability evaluation process. This faster process is called the Compassionate Allowances program. Here, you may be able to fast-forward the regular eligibility requirements, and the SSA, together with experts, will quickly evaluate your application.
  • Diabetes
  • Head Injuries: These include concussions/contusions and other traumatic brain injuries (TBI). It can either be an open or closed head injury.
  • Aneurysm
  • Congestive heart failure (CHF)
  • Coronary artery disease (CAD)
  • Heart attack
  • Heart transplant: The SSA may consider you disabled for at least one year following your heart transplant surgery.
  • Recurrent Heart Arrhythmias
  • Joint Pain/Arthritis
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Liver Disease
  • Cirrhosis
  • Hepatitis
  • Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)
  • Lung Diseases/Respiratory Disorders
  • Asthma: One of the SSA requirements to get asthma disability benefits is that you must have asthma attacks at least once every two months.
  • Chronic obstructive lung disease (COPD): Examples of COPD are bronchitis and emphysema.
  • Cystic fibrosis (respiratory)
  • Emphysema
  • Stroke-related respiratory issues
  • Mental Disorders
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Bipolar disorder
  • Depression
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Schizophrenia/Schizoaffective disorder
  • Borderline personality disorder (BPD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD/ADD)
  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
  • Parkinson’s Disease

As discussed, just being diagnosed with one of these conditions is no guarantee you will be granted SSDI benefits. You must show the SSA that your condition severely affects your functioning as it relates to work and that it meets the SSA’s criteria for disability.

We at Kalfus Nachman can help you navigate the SSDI and SSDI application process. Whether this is your first time applying for disability benefits or you are already appealing a previously-denied claim, we can assist you in putting together a highly effective application. We have done this for numerous applicants like you over the years, successfully enabling them to receive the benefits they need and deserve. Your disability application may involve deadlines, so please don’t hesitate to talk to us as soon as possible. Your consultation with us is free.

Related Posts
  • What Is Intellectual Disability and Who Qualifies? Read More
  • Why Do You Need A Social Security Disability Insurance Attorney? Read More
  • Understanding the Common Reasons for SSDI Claim Denials in Virginia Read More