An Uninsured Driver Hit Me, What Now?
In Virginia you do not have to purchase to legally drive in Virginia. Instead, some drivers your just choose to pay an uninsured motorist fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If the vehicle is uninsured, the motor vehicle owner is required to pay to DMV a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee in addition to normal registration fees. Payment of the $500 fee does not provide the motorist with any insurance coverage. If involved in an accident, the uninsured motorist remains personally liable. This fee is valid for twelve months but may be prorated for a shorter amount of time.
But on the other hand if YOU have an insurance policy with liability coverage, Virginia law requires that the policy have limits of uninsured motorist coverage which equal the amount of the liability coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage protects the you and any same-household family members, if they are injured by the negligence of someone who has no liability insurance coverage.
Virginia law requires your insurance company to provide underinsured motorist coverage to you as a "consumer protection" part of your policy. You paid premiums for Virginia underinsured motorist coverage to protect you in a situation where a reckless driver does not have enough auto liability insurance. By paying for uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, you ensure that you’ll be covered in the event that you’re hit by a driver with no insurance, or not enough insurance to Even in scenarios such as hit and run accidents or if your passengers are injured, your uninsured motorist coverage can also kick in. Under these circumstances, you can use the uninsured motorist coverage your own policy to receive compensation for the losses caused by the negligence of the uninsured driver.
Uninsured motorist coverage does not let the uninsured driver, off ‘scot free’ since that person may be required to reimburse your insurance company for the amount that it paid you to settle the claim.
Having sufficient uninsured motorist protection could turn out to be one of the best decisions you ever make. We recommend that you review your own auto insurance policy and purchase the highest amount of UM coverage available.
If you ever are in need of a personal injury lawyer to advocate on your behalf in the event of an injury caused by another’s actions, Kalfus & Nachman wants to help. Our trusted legal team will work tirelessly to ensure you are able to obtain the compensation you deserve, whether it be for your medical bills, loss of work or wages, or pain and suffering. Don’t hesitate to schedule an initial consultation with a member of our firm by calling us at (855) 880-8163.