Will Taking a Defensive Driver Class Get Me a Discount on My Car Insurance?
Signing up for a defensive driving or accident prevention course to become a better driver is a good idea anyway, since improving your driving skills and knowledge will make you a better drive. But will taking a course like that lower your insurance premium? It depends.
Some states require car insurance companies offer a discount to drivers who voluntarily choose to take an accident-prevention course from a list of approved traffic schools The discount is typically between five and 15 percent.
Insurance companies offer reduction in rates to policyholders who are 55 years old and older who voluntarily and successfully complete a classroom or online motor vehicle crash prevention course
Several auto insurance providers offer a discount if certain approved courses are taken, in the hopes that drivers will retain what is learned and practice better driving habits on the road. Fewer accidents usually result fewer claims, and fewer claims results in less money the insurance company has to spend.
In Virginia, insurance companies offer reduction in rates to policyholders who are 55 years old and older who voluntarily and successfully complete a classroom or online motor vehicle crash prevention course. These classes consist of eight-hour classroom sessions that cost no more than $100 and are offered at sites around the state and as an online course on the internet. Additionally, if you are ordered by traffic court to take a class, safe driving points on your license will be awarded. Simply stated, a state-approved driver improvement can help you remove a ticket from your record, lower your insurance rates, reduce your fines and fees and teach you to become a safer, more responsible driver. Moreover, according to the Virginia DMV, you can be awarded up to 5 safe driving points once every 24 months for completing a Virginia driver improvement clinic. However, if you are taking a course to reduce your insurance premium, you will not be eligible to receive the safe driving points. According to the Virginia DMV, you can be awarded up to 5 safe driving points once every 24 months for completing a Virginia driver improvement clinic. You cannot get more than 5 points.
If you or a family member has been injured in an accident caused by another person, it might be a good idea to consult an experience personal injury attorney. We will tenaciously represent you and work to get you the maximum amount you deserve. Please contact Kalfus & Nachman today by calling (855) 880-8163. We are proud to serve the communities of Norfolk, Newport News, and Roanoke, Virginia.