Motorcycles, Accidents, and Virginia Law
On May 2, 2018 in Virginia Beach, Virginia there was a two-vehicle accident involving a motorcycle in the westbound lanes of I-264.
Police stated at least one person has life-threatening injuries. The accident is still being investigated.
State Law Pertaining to Motorcycles
While no amount of motorcycle safety equipment can prevent an accident, Virginia has mandated motorcyclists use certain safety equipment when riding.
Motorcycle operators in Virginia must wear a safety helmet. The helmet must be approved by one of three organizations: the Snell Memorial Foundation, the American National Standards Institute, or the Department of Transportation. Passengers are also required to wear an approved helmet.
In Virginia, motorcyclists must also wear a face shield or safety glasses/goggles or have a motorcycle equipped with safety glass or windshield that is approved by the Virginia State Police.
Virginia Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
In Virginia, motorcyclists can legally ride without having insurance if they pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee to the Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. While not having insurance can save money, it opens the individual to personal liability; namely that they can be sued in civil court. Motorcyclists who choose to purchase and have insurance must carry the following minimum insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury of two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage
If you have been the victim of an accident with a motorcycle, call the attorneys at Kalfus & Nachman PC for a free consultation (855-880-81630).